This feature requires the Standard edition. You are running the Trial edition or your site domain is not associated with your license key. Please visit to purchase an upgrade or add your domain.

BMW Australia U20s side named for New Zealand blockbuster

Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend

By ARU Media Unit

The BMW Australia U20s side has been named for the first of two matches against New Zealand U20s at the Oceania Rugby U20 Championship with Maclean Jones given the honour of captaining his country. 

Melbourne Rebels centre, Sione Tuipolotu joins the national team on the bench having been released from the club for International duties after the Rebels match in Auckland. 

BMW Australian U20s Head Coach Adrian Thompson: “The squad has been working hard together since their arrival on Tuesday and I know the team is looking forward to the opportunity to play New Zealand at home. 

“I have been pleased with the talent on display and the attitude of the players to continue improving throughout the week.

“Maclean was a natural choice for Captain due to his leadership and ability on and off the field, having proven himself for Queensland Country in the 2015 NRC and with Queensland’s Super U20s side this year.” 

There have been five changes made to the original squad with Campbell Magnay and Lukan Tui joining fellow Aussie U20 representative, James Tuttle with the Queensland Reds. Declan Moore and Latu Latinipulu have left the squad due to injury. 

The players will be replaced by Simon Kennewell, Richie Asiata, Sione Tuipolotu and Ta Hosea. 

Australia will play New Zealand in a two match series to be held at Bond University, Gold Coast with the first match to kick off on Tuesday at 6.30pm AEST. Both matches will be live streamed through thanks to Bar TV. 

BMW Australia U20s v New Zealand U20s: 
1. Faalelie Sione 
2. Joshua Taylor 
3. Tyrel Lomax 
4. Harry Hockings 
5. Ryan McCauley 
6. Angus Scott-Young
7. Maclean Jones (C)
8. Harley Fox 
9. Moses Sorovi 
10. Mack Mason
11. Joey Fittock 
12. Jordan Jackson-Hope 
13. Liam Jurd 
14. Ah-Mu Tuimalealifano 
15. Jack Maddocks 
16. Jordan Uelese 
17. Vunipola Fifita 
18. Sham Vui 
19. Rob Leota
 20. Ikapote  Tupai 

21. Angus Fowler 

22. Billy Gray  

23. Sione Tuipulotu