This feature requires the Standard edition. You are running the Trial edition or your site domain is not associated with your license key. Please visit to purchase an upgrade or add your domain.


Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend


The Rugby Union Players Association (RUPA) has announced the five finalists from both the Qantas Australian Men’s and Women’s Sevens teams for the Rugby Sevens Players' Player of the Year Award, with the winners to be announced at the RUPA Awards Lunch on Wednesday 7 December.

Players in both the men’s and women’s teams vote for their team’s most valuable player at the conclusion of each HSBC Sevens World Series tournament, so consistency is key to claiming the prize.

With both teams currently preparing for the first leg of the HSBC Sevens World Series in Dubai (1-3 December) this announcement is a timely reminder of how much individual players have achieved in this historic year for Rugby Sevens.

ARU General Manager High Performance, Ben Whitaker said: “There have been some fantastic moments for our Sevens teams this year and some amazing individual efforts from our players.

“From the women winning gold at the Rio Olympic Games, to the men making the final against New Zealand at a thrilling HSBC Sydney7s, this year we witnessed some unforgettable milestones for Australian Sevens.

“I congratulate all players that have been nominated by their team mates for this award and look forward to seeing our teams perform during the 2016-2017 HSBC Sevens World Series which kicks off this weekend.”   

Both Qantas Australian Sevens teams will kick off their 2016-2017 HSBC Sevens World Series campaigns at the Dubai 7s from 1-3 December. The Australian Women’s Sevens team is looking to become the first Australian team to win back-to-back HSBC Sevens World Series titles.

Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens nominees:
Charlotte Caslick
Chloe Dalton
Shannon Parry
Emma Tonegato
Amy Turner

Qantas Australian Men’s Sevens nominees:  
Allan Fa’alava’au
Con Foley
Ed Jenkins
Lewis Holland
James Stannard