This feature requires the Standard edition. You are running the Trial edition or your site domain is not associated with your license key. Please visit to purchase an upgrade or add your domain.


Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend


Following last weekend’s National Youth Sevens Championships in Perth, an under 18s Australian Boys and an under 18s Australian Girls team will travel to New Zealand to compete in the World School Sevens Tournament at Sacred Heart College in Auckland this weekend.

The World School Sevens Youth Boys competition will include six teams – New Zealand, Australia, Samoa, NZ Fijians, Cook Islands and NZ Barbarians – while the Youth Girls team will play the New Zealand Condors, New Zealand Wasps and Samoa.

The New Zealand trip will also include practice matches at Rifles Rugby Club, and will offer Australia’s stars of the future a chance to impress coaches before next year's Commonwealth Youth Games in the Bahamas.

Headlining the teams will be Demi Hayes, Hannah Southwell and Dylan Pietsch who are already training full-time with the Australian Sevens squads.

Isaac Lucas, 2016 QLD Schoolboy Player of the Year, also looks set to impress for the Youth Boys, following in the footsteps of his older brothers Tom, Matt and Ben who have all earned starts in the Australian Sevens jersey.

ARU Pathway Services Manager of Rugby Sevens, Dale Roberson said: “We were really impressed with the standard of competition at the recent National Youth Sevens Championships in Perth, and the boys and girls selected for this tour should be immensely proud of their achievements already.”

“We are going away with a plan to expose younger players to international competition. This tournament will be an important milestone for many of them as they work towards representing Australia at the Youth Commonwealth Games, Youth Olympics and then potentially progressing to higher honours with the national teams.”


  • Millie Boyle, ACT
    Claudia Obst, ACT
    Brydie Parker, NSW
    Lily Dick, QLD
    Kiara Taylor, QLD
    Liz De Lange, QLD
    Nat Crow, NSW
    Page McGregor, NSW
    Demi Hayes, QLD
    Hannah Southwell, NSW
    Tiarna Molloy, NSW
    Abby Holmes, NSW
    Katie Curtis, QLD


  • Tayn Atkins, ACT
    Caleb Malisauskas, ACT
    James Armstrong, NSW
    Dylan Pietsch, NSW
    Connor Size, NSW
    Matthew McTaggart, NSW
    Will Terry, NSW
    Nic Donghi, VIC
    Oisin Clarken, VIC
    Henricus Van Der Heyden, WA
    Isaac Lucas, QLD
    Samuel Wallis, QLD
    Tate McDermott, QLD