Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend


Macquarie University have won their first ever round of the Aon University Sevens Series defeating Griffith University, 26-0 in the Final in Canberra today for round two of the Series.  

The Gold medal win is the first time in the history of the competition that the University of Queensland has not claimed the top spot, opening up a blockbuster remainder three rounds of the series. 

In blustery conditions at the University of Canberra, the young Macquarie University side took an early lead and maintained it, outrunning Griffith University over the course of the match.  

In other results the University of Queensland defeated Queensland rival Bond University 29-5, to take out the Bronze Final. With the home town, University of Canberra starting to come into form as they make preparations to head to round three in Brisbane. 

Macquarie University Head Coach, Nath McMahon said: “The win means a lot, the girls have worked really hard to achieve this goal. 

“We challenged them this tournament both as individuals and as a team this weekend and they really rose up to the challenge. 

“Heading into the next round, we’ll move straight into preparations, unfortunately we’ll lose Page McGregor to Aussie 7s duties and she’ll be a big loss however we’ve got a lot of girls in the squad fighting for spots, and this competition is healthy. 

“We’ve got a great balance at the moment with a youth aspect, as well as a senior balance in the team so we’ll hope to keep that moving forward into the Brisbane round.”  

The series heads to Brisbane for round three of the five round Series on September 22-23 with every match to be broadcast LIVE on

2018 Aon University Sevens Series Ladder 
1. Macquarie University, 38 points 
2. University of Queensland, 36 points 
3. Griffith University, 34 points 
4. University of Canberra, 24 points 
5. Bond University, 20 points 
6. University of Sydney, 18 points 
7. University of Tasmania, 18 points 
8. University of New England, 14 points 
9. University of Adelaide, 14 points 
10. University of Melbourne, 4 points