ARU Referees

Within the Australian Rugby Union, refereeing sits in two departments - within the High Performance Department, headed by General Manager Ben Whitaker, and the Community Rugby Department, headed by General Manager Andrew Larratt.

The ARU is responsible for:

  • the strategic direction of refereeing in Australia
  • selecting and developing the National Panel of referees and other talent across the country
  • supporting and resourcing the education and training of referees at all levels.

Each individual State Union or Referee Association is responsible for:

  • the policy and implementation of coaching and appointing referees in their State
  • conducting ARU-approved accreditation courses and other educational content
  • managing the process of accreditation and reaccreditation of referees in their State.

There are currently four ARU staff with national referee responsibilities:

Scott Young - Head of Referees
Jamie McGregor - Match Officials Manager, Community Rugby 
Chelsea Jones - Logistics and Administration Coordinator, High Performance

For more details about referees on the ARU’s National Match Official Team, please visit the ARU Match Official Team Profiles page.

ARU Referees Menu

Featured Referee

Featured Referee

Julian Pritchard

Julian Pritchard


Rugby AU
View Full Profile