Commonwealth Games Match Official Team Announced

Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend


The stage is set and the count down is on for the XXI Commonwealth Games on Queensland’s, Gold Coast. It will be sixth time Rugby Sevens has been included to the games and the first for the Women’s teams. Rugby 7’s will be showcased at the end of the games between the 13-15th of April at Gold Coast’s Robina Stadium, which is no stranger to Rugby Sevens, having last be the host to the HSBC World Series in 2014.

World Rugby have selected 14 Match Officials to cover both Tournaments, including our own Damon Murphy and Jordan Way. (Appointments below)

Women’s Appointments
 Men’s Appointments

Rugby Australia were tasked with appointing the rest of the Match Official Team which includes a mixture of men and women from the community referee pool who have the experience at international sevens and who have excelled at a number of sevens tournaments within Australia over the past few years.

“With funding from GOLDOC ( Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games Corporation) over the past two years ,we have been able to identify and develop a number of female and male officials specifically for officiating in sevens. We are very grateful to GOLDOC as their support has particularly helped our female development program through the Aon Women’s University Sevens which commenced last year .” Scott Young , Head of Referees said

Congratulations to all those selected. Full list below:
On Field Officials
Andrew Cox – Sydney Referees
Charlie Hartson – Sydney Referees
Amber Hibbard – VRRA
Rachel Horton – VRRA
Greg Johnstone – Sydney Referees
Rueben Keane – ACTRRA
Kath Little – New England Referees
Richard Manchee – Sydney Referees
Tyler Miller – WA Referees
Yolande Moevao – FNQ Referees
James Morris – ACTRRA
Aaron Pook – Gold Coast Referees
Madeline Putz – WA Referees
James Quinn – Sydney Referees
Jordan Ryan – QRRA
Mark Sheriff – WA Referees
Julie Skiba – WA Referees
Ian Smith – Sydney Referees
Dru Tonks – Newcastle Referees

Off Field Officials
Lauren Kelly – Newcastle Referees
Don Linde – Gold Coast Referees
Tom Ryan – QRRA